Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Browse by Region
map Americas Africa Asia and Pacific Europe Middle East and North Africa
African Union (AU)
Objectives: to achieve greater unity among African States; to defend states' integrity and independence; to accelerate political, social, and economic integration; to encourage international cooperation; to promote democratic principles and institutions. The AU is the biggest and the most important intergovernmental organization in the continent with the widest objectives including various issues.

Members (53): all African countries (except Morocco)
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
NGO Media Statements
Authorascending Date and Title
125 CSOs Joint Statement (PR)
23 June 2011
AU: Support Justice for Gravest Crimes
04 July 2009
African Union: Non-co-operation with Bashir Arrest Warrant an insult for victims
06 July 2009
African Union refuses to cooperate with Bashir arrest warrant
04 Nov 2009
African governments must reaffirm commitment to International Criminal Court
29 Jan 2010
African Union: Address human rights violations in conflicts
African CSO's and international NGO's
08 June 2012
AU Summit: Malawi Stands with Darfur Victims
African Civil Society
30 July 2009
African civil society urges African States Parties to the Rome Statute to reaffirm their commitment to the ICC
Quotes and Statements