Election of the ASP President and Bureau members for the 20th to 22nd ASP sessions

The Bureau of the Assembly consists of a President, two Vice-Presidents and 18 members elected by the ASP for 3-year terms. The current Bureau members assumed their function at the sixteenth session of the Assembly, in 2017. At its 19th session in December 2020, the ASP will elect new members of the Bureau

Mr. O-Gon Kwon (Republic of Korea)

Mr. Jens-Otto Horslund (Denmark)
Mr. Michal Mlynár (Slovakia) 

Other members of the Bureau:
Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Colombia, Côte d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Gambia, Ghana, Mexico, Netherlands, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, State of Palestine and Uganda

The process to identify the future Bureau members is initially conducted by regional focal points who carry out consultations within their respective groups: the Czech Republic, Finland, Gabon, Japan, and Trinidad and Tobago.

At the third Bureau meeting in May 2020, the ASP President Judge O-Gon Kwon encouraged the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States (GRULAC) to begin consultations to identify a candidate that the Bureau would recommend to the Assembly for election as the President, and invited regional groups to also begin their consultations to identify future members. 

On 26 November 2020, the Bureau recommended that the Assembly elects Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi (Argentina) as its President.

Please visit the ASP website for more information.